leighandgill

Archaeology in East Oxford

Topographic survey by tractor, etc

Olaf has done had his first stab at doing the topo survey of South Park (see Geophysics at South Park). After having worked out the best way to attach our GPS unit to the tractor –

The GPS unit strapped to the front of the tractor with gaffer tape

Then Olaf pressed the button and off the tractor went, gathering info as it went. The grass was pretty long, as you can tell from the picture Jo sent me –

The tractor in full flight – you can just see (hopefully) the aerial of the GPS device poking up at the front of the bonnet (?, perhaps engine cover) of the tractor.

Gang mowing in action, in the service of archaeology! Olaf had set the GPS to collect data every 1 second, which gave the following set of collection points –

Each green circle represents a sample point.

Which when he had crunched the numbers gave us the following –

The results of the survey.

I’m not quite sure what the drop-outs represent – I’ll have to have a chat with Olaf when he returns from his travels. I do know he plans to have another go when they next mow the park, as they will do it at right angles to the last time, so we’ll get a different set of data-points, which will increase the resolution of the final image.

I had written quite a lot more, but when I tried to save it, I was asked if I was sure I meant to do that (?), and when I said yes – you’ve guessed it – everything I had just typed in disappeared. Thank you, WordPress.

Main point was I’ve finished adding the fields to the Cowley Enclosure map –

All the cultivated areas added to the background details.

I’m now letting my eyes return to normal!

We’ll report on yesterday’s talk on Oxford’s Medieval Farming Landscape and other tings in the next Blog – I will have calmed down by then.

Leigh

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Topographic survey by tractor, etc

  1. Pingback: Topographic survey by tractor, etc « Digital Archaeology

  2. Pingback: Cloud Atlas « shelteringmemory

Leave a Reply

